Announcement

Do not use the forums to submit bug reports, feature requests or patches, submit a New Ticket instead.

#1 2007-01-29 02:58:37

hobbes2006
Xinha Community Member
Registered: 2006-12-18
Posts: 12

Santex Error in IE

When I load my page on IE I get a syntax error on this line char: 3;

$theValue = ($theValue != "") ? $theDefinedValue : $theNotDefinedValue;

ie%20Error.bmp

there is the error on IE so you can see it.
I really don't know what would cause it.
I do know it works on FF.

Offline

#2 2007-01-29 08:30:31

ray
Xinha Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-03-23
Posts: 521
Website

Re: Santex Error in IE

Which is the file that contains the line? (The URL reported by IE error message is not always the file that contains the faulty js; also the line reported is usually not quite right).

The syntax you quote is OK, supposed you define the vars beforehand using

var varName;

Why do you use the $-naming? that is not usual in js.
Please give more information, an URL to have a look at might help solve the problem quickly.

Offline

#3 2007-01-29 16:30:45

hobbes2006
Xinha Community Member
Registered: 2006-12-18
Posts: 12

Re: Santex Error in IE

here is the link
http://usd465.com/winfieldaged/frontpag … index2.php

I didnt know make the code I am useing Macromedia Dreamweaver MX 2004 to edit.

Offline

#4 2007-01-29 17:19:51

jedi58
Xinha Authority
From: Leicester, UK
Registered: 2007-01-14
Posts: 113
Website

Re: Santex Error in IE

think the problem is in your mu_config.js file - you've added PHP code to it....this doesn't usuallt get parsed in JS files


<?php
     require_once('/contrib/php-xinha.php');
     xinha_pass_to_php_backend(
       array(
         'images_dir' => '../../../../Pictures/Image', 
         'images_url' => 'http://www.usd465.com/winfieldaged/PicturesImage'
       )
     ); 
 ?>

Last edited by jedi58 (2007-01-29 17:26:38)


David G. Paul
[url]http://www.newearthonline.co.uk[/url]

Offline

#5 2007-01-29 17:22:44

jedi58
Xinha Authority
From: Leicester, UK
Registered: 2007-01-14
Posts: 113
Website

Re: Santex Error in IE

oh by the way it is possible to get php inside .js to be parsed - and that is to add .js as a PHP file extension in the php.ini


David G. Paul
[url]http://www.newearthonline.co.uk[/url]

Offline

#6 2007-01-29 17:47:42

ray
Xinha Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-03-23
Posts: 521
Website

Re: Santex Error in IE

Yes, that's obvious. The solution is simple: just rename my_config.js to my_config.php

P.S. You can also put

AddType application/x-httpd-php .js

in a .htaccess file in folder (if you're running apache)

Offline

#7 2007-01-29 18:10:34

jedi58
Xinha Authority
From: Leicester, UK
Registered: 2007-01-14
Posts: 113
Website

Re: Santex Error in IE

well I didn't think it'd be obvious to everyone, can't assume everything is everyone's area of expertise so I thought I should point it out


David G. Paul
[url]http://www.newearthonline.co.uk[/url]

Offline

#8 2007-01-29 19:04:13

ray
Xinha Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-03-23
Posts: 521
Website

Re: Santex Error in IE

Sorry, of course I meant the unparsed php code is an obvious error and there are various ways to fix it smile

Offline

#9 2007-01-30 03:39:41

jedi58
Xinha Authority
From: Leicester, UK
Registered: 2007-01-14
Posts: 113
Website

Re: Santex Error in IE

aah sorry, written text can always be interpreted wrong! lol


David G. Paul
[url]http://www.newearthonline.co.uk[/url]

Offline

#10 2007-01-30 22:19:35

hobbes2006
Xinha Community Member
Registered: 2006-12-18
Posts: 12

Re: Santex Error in IE

No that was not the problem! In IE it does not convert the textarea at all, but it will in Firefox.

Offline

#11 2007-01-31 07:08:46

ray
Xinha Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-03-23
Posts: 521
Website

Re: Santex Error in IE

Just give it a try and rename my_config.js to my_config.php

Offline

#12 2007-01-31 13:04:13

hobbes2006
Xinha Community Member
Registered: 2006-12-18
Posts: 12

Re: Santex Error in IE

I did try it and it does not work.

Offline

#13 2007-02-08 14:29:21

hobbes2006
Xinha Community Member
Registered: 2006-12-18
Posts: 12

Re: Santex Error in IE

I have found out the problem. All i did was delete the php code.

Offline

#14 2007-02-08 20:29:06

ray
Xinha Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-03-23
Posts: 521
Website

Re: Santex Error in IE

Well, doesn'n actually sound like a "solution"

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB