Announcement

Do not use the forums to submit bug reports, feature requests or patches, submit a New Ticket instead.

#1 2006-07-28 00:32:06

xunileca
New member
Registered: 2006-07-28
Posts: 6

xinha blanks post variables?

I have multiple xinha editors on one page.
<form> tag is outside <table>
I have several <input type="hidden" value="blah"> tags.

When using document.form.onsubmit() then document.form.submit(), ALL variables other than the textareas are blanked.  In other words,

<?php
print_r($_POST)
?>

returns blank.

This only appears to be happening when calling the javascript, as a proper submit works fine.  All the posts/documentation I have read so far seem to indicate that form.onsubmit should fix this, but it is my understanding these people were complaining about xinha content not going back into textarea values when using the javascript.  If so, then this appears to be unrelated.  I am not a newbie, but damn if I can't figure this one out.

Offline

#2 2006-07-28 05:09:00

ray
Xinha Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-03-23
Posts: 521
Website

Re: xinha blanks post variables?

There is surely something you overlook. If you give link to your page, I can have a look at it. maybe i see something you didn't

Offline

#3 2006-07-28 09:00:06

gogo
Xinha Leader
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2005-02-11
Posts: 1,015
Website

Re: xinha blanks post variables?

Xinha would not (should not) touch any of your other form elements.  Check that your HTML is well formed, and generally valid.  Make sure you are putting correctly entized data into your textarea, you cannot just put raw HTML into a textarea that would be invalid HTML.


James Sleeman

Offline

#4 2006-07-28 09:29:29

xunileca
New member
Registered: 2006-07-28
Posts: 6

Re: xinha blanks post variables?

Thanks for the quick replies.  I am not entirley sure what you mean by "entized" data.  The page is VERY complicated, approx 1600 lines of php/js/html.  I will do my best to go through it and check the html.  At least now I know this behaviour is not expected.  Thanks again.

Last edited by xunileca (2006-07-28 09:30:44)

Offline

#5 2006-07-28 22:29:57

gogo
Xinha Leader
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2005-02-11
Posts: 1,015
Website

Re: xinha blanks post variables?


James Sleeman

Offline

#6 2006-07-30 12:13:36

xunileca
New member
Registered: 2006-07-28
Posts: 6

Re: xinha blanks post variables?

I have "entized" all the data going into the xinha textareas, at least at the initial load, assuming xinha will do this for me on the post if additional data is appended.  From my understanding, "entizing" only needs to be done on the content of the xinha editors, not ALL of the pages's html.

I still have blank post variables. 


if ($_POST){print_r($_POST);}  //yields no output.

if (!empty($_POST)){print_r($_POST);} // yields no output

It appears as though $_POST is not even being set.

if (!empty($_REQUEST)){print_r($_REQUEST);}  // only outputs get and coookie variables.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Offline

#7 2006-07-30 23:34:35

gogo
Xinha Leader
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2005-02-11
Posts: 1,015
Website

Re: xinha blanks post variables?

Can't help more unless we see your code.


James Sleeman

Offline

#8 2006-08-07 18:36:02

xunileca
New member
Registered: 2006-07-28
Posts: 6

Re: xinha blanks post variables?

I have made some progress.  I had the form post to a php script that simply prints out $_POST.
All the POST variables were there.  So it does not appear to be something during the actual post.  It must be something when the page loads (it posts to itself) that is blanking the $_POST php variable.  Any ideas??

Offline

#9 2006-08-07 21:46:14

gogo
Xinha Leader
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2005-02-11
Posts: 1,015
Website

Re: xinha blanks post variables?

xunileca: sounds like it's not happening in Xinha then, can't help much else than that.


James Sleeman

Offline

#10 2006-08-07 23:43:22

xunileca
New member
Registered: 2006-07-28
Posts: 6

Re: xinha blanks post variables?

SOLVED!!

It had absolutely NOTHING TO DO WITH XINHA.  You would think that after several years of programming, one would not make such a stupid mistake.  A php header() redirect DOES NOT carry through POST variables.  I hope I have enlightened someone else. Thanks for your replies and your time.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB