Announcement

Do not use the forums to submit bug reports, feature requests or patches, submit a New Ticket instead.

#1 2005-07-11 17:39:30

richard.york
New member
From: Indianapolis, IN
Registered: 2005-03-18
Posts: 8
Website

Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

Xinha doesn't work in the latest Firefox nightly.  Trying to figure out if this is something in Xinha, or something broken in Firefox.  Not being much of a JavaScript guru, I can't really answer that question for myself.  If it is Firefox, a bug should be filed in bugzilla.

I should note that I've tested against my own installation of Xinha, which works in FF 1.0, but not in FF Nightly.  I've also tested against the examples on this site, which provide the same results.

Latest Firefox nightly can be obtained here:
http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/firefox/nightly/

Offline

#2 2005-07-17 23:45:09

gogo
Xinha Leader
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2005-02-11
Posts: 1,015
Website

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

If it's working in one version, and not in another, then it's gotta be a bug in firefox smile  If it's broken in the next firefox release we'll look then, but not worth time to check & fix in firefox nightlies.


James Sleeman

Offline

#3 2005-09-08 09:23:32

richard.york
New member
From: Indianapolis, IN
Registered: 2005-03-18
Posts: 8
Website

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

> If it's working in one version, and not in another, then it's gotta be a bug in firefox

Not necessarily.  I've had some scripts fail in the latest nightlies that were the result of bugs in my scripts that firefox was allowing to pass by previously, but after tightening up their javascript support, failed.  Specifically in the area of memory leaks, IIRC.

> If it's broken in the next firefox release we'll look then, but not worth time to check & fix in firefox nightlies.

The nightlies, and milestones exist for more than testing the browser itself, they also exist for developers to test their code to prepare for the next release.  Given that I use Xinha in an intranet environment, and Firefox 1.5 makes obscene advances in standards support, and general stability I'll be moving to it as soon as it's ready.

Xinha is still broken, BTW, in Firefox 1.5 Beta 1.  Moreover, why not help the Firefox devs by reporting bugs, if there are in fact bugs?!?

Offline

#4 2005-09-09 03:39:01

gogo
Xinha Leader
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2005-02-11
Posts: 1,015
Website

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

Because time is a precious commodity smile

Feel free to test in FF nightlies and report bugs to moz.  If you have specifics of something that is incorrect in Xinha then report to Xinha.  But I won't bust my nut testing every nightly to see if it breaks something.  Especially when you get things like useCSS having it's operation mode changed for no reason, then changed back again after everybody works around the first change.


James Sleeman

Offline

#5 2005-09-09 08:53:46

richard.york
New member
From: Indianapolis, IN
Registered: 2005-03-18
Posts: 8
Website

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

> But I won't bust my nut testing every nightly to see if it breaks something

Here in the United States "Bust my nut" means to ejaculate ;-), but I get what you're saying.

I just thought you'd at least be curious as to why it was breaking, and I'm only giving you a heads-up, one developer to another.   Of course I don't expect you to test in every nightly (I don't expect anything at all :-)).  My own proceedure, OTOH, is to download a nightly once or twice a month, just to check in on what's changing.  But to each his own.  My last post wasn't referring to a nightly though, it's referring to the Beta 1 milestone.  I'm already working on a fix in my fork of Xinha, I'll post the fix if and when I have one.  So far it seems to stem from the use of eval() in the registerPlugins method, but I haven't yet dug into it.  Sorry, it'd be futile to share line numbers, since I've totally reformatted the whole file to my own CS.

Offline

#6 2005-09-09 11:44:51

mrs kensington
New member
Registered: 2005-09-09
Posts: 4

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

I've also come across this problem with Beta 1 of Deer Park (a.k.a. Firefox 1.5)... I've had a little look into what the problem is...

There is actually a bug report on this subject already and I decided to add my comments there instead of here... You can find it at...

http://xinha.python-hosting.com/ticket/431

Basically it seems like cloneObject at line 2118 in htmlarea.js is not working anymore...

Mrs k

p.s. richard.york as you've reformatted yours (and thus line numbers are useless) the line im talking about is in HTMLArea.loadPlugins

Last edited by mrs kensington (2005-09-09 11:47:18)

Offline

#7 2005-09-09 12:05:11

gogo
Xinha Leader
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2005-02-11
Posts: 1,015
Website

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

There has been a bug reported against DPA2 for quite some time: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=301869
Nobody at moz seems to be interested though.

I'll look when I get a chance, but not any time soon.  I look forward to your fix, or bug report to moz (as it seems likely a bug in moz, not xinha) smile


James Sleeman

Offline

#8 2005-09-09 12:15:14

gogo
Xinha Leader
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2005-02-11
Posts: 1,015
Website

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

Also, I can't run DeerPark A2 because it has a nastily regular habit of causing XFree to totally lock up (my guess is it's throwing the old unexpected async reply) so no input works, can't even switch out to the console or ctrl-alt-backspace, forcing me to do a hard reset of the machine, which really ticks me off.  I'm not keen to see if FF1.5 still does that, 1.0.6 doesn't at all.


James Sleeman

Offline

#9 2005-09-09 12:45:01

mrs kensington
New member
Registered: 2005-09-09
Posts: 4

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

I've just managed to get it working...

looking at line 4283 of htmlarea.js (function HTMLArea.cloneObject)

you have...
if (obj.constructor.toString().indexOf("function Array(") == 1) {
    newObj = obj.constructor();
}

I added an alert in before this and the indexOf returns 0 for the array of plugins... as this is an array im assuming this constructor should be called...

if I change it to

if (obj.constructor.toString().indexOf("function Array(") == 0) {
    newObj = obj.constructor();
}

it works fine in Firefox 1.5 beta 1... however I assume this will break it in other versions of firefox... whilst its a bit of a hack you could always change it to...

if (obj.constructor.toString().indexOf("function Array(") <= 1) {
    newObj = obj.constructor();
}

all it looks like they've done is remove a space from the beginning of the array constructor...

Last edited by mrs kensington (2005-09-09 12:45:46)

Offline

#10 2005-09-09 12:49:32

mrs kensington
New member
Registered: 2005-09-09
Posts: 4

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

for some reason I cant explain... <= 1 doesn't work... however ==0 or != -1 does work...

anyway i'm off home from work now... I'll have a more in-depth look when I get back home...

Last edited by mrs kensington (2005-09-09 12:50:02)

Offline

#11 2005-09-09 13:05:11

richard.york
New member
From: Indianapolis, IN
Registered: 2005-03-18
Posts: 8
Website

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

> it works fine in Firefox 1.5 beta 1... however I assume this will break it in other versions of firefox... whilst its a bit of a hack you could always 
> change it to...
>
> if (obj.constructor.toString().indexOf("function Array(") <= 1) {
>    newObj = obj.constructor();
> }

Thanks for the quick response.

Actually, you'd have to do one for '0' || '1', if you do '<=', you get the '-1' being true too.

    if (obj.constructor.toString().indexOf('function Array(') == 1 || obj.constructor.toString().indexOf('function Array(') == 0)

Regards,
Rich

Offline

#12 2005-09-09 13:07:47

richard.york
New member
From: Indianapolis, IN
Registered: 2005-03-18
Posts: 8
Website

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

> or != -1 does work..

Even better.

Offline

#13 2005-09-09 13:43:47

mrs kensington
New member
Registered: 2005-09-09
Posts: 4

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

richard.york wrote:

Actually, you'd have to do one for '0' || '1', if you do '<=', you get the '-1' being true too.

Now I feel really stupid... been one of those days today...

richard.york wrote:

> or != -1 does work..

Even better.

I think -1 is probably the best to use... unless you want to exclude constructors that have "function Array(" in the body... which is extremely unlikely...

I'll post on a patch on the bug report....

Mrs K

Offline

#14 2005-10-10 12:07:46

adam.jimenez
Xinha Pro
Registered: 2005-04-19
Posts: 50

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

still no joy in firefox beta 2. is this a xinha bug or a firefox bug?

Offline

#15 2005-10-12 12:07:39

riftdesign
Xinha Pro
From: South Dakota, USA
Registered: 2005-03-22
Posts: 55
Website

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

I am also getting errors with Beta 2.

Using http://xinha.gogo.co.nz/xinha-nightly/e … ample.html as the testbed, js errors are as follows:

Error: Unknown property 'filter'.  Declaration dropped.
Source File: http://xinha.gogo.co.nz/xinha-nightly/htmlarea.css
Line: 50

Error: Expected color but found 'FieldFace'.  Error in parsing value for property 'background'.  Declaration dropped.
Source File: http://xinha.gogo.co.nz/xinha-nightly/htmlarea.css
Line: 73

Error: CharacterMap is not defined
Source File: http://xinha.gogo.co.nz/xinha-nightly/htmlarea.js
Line: 5380


rift design studio
[url]http://www.riftdesign.com[/url]

Offline

#16 2005-10-12 12:15:32

richard.york
New member
From: Indianapolis, IN
Registered: 2005-03-18
Posts: 8
Website

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

I used mrs kensington's fix and got Xinha working fine in 1.5 Beta.

Offline

#17 2005-10-12 12:58:47

adam.jimenez
Xinha Pro
Registered: 2005-04-19
Posts: 50

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

is mrs k's fix gonna make it into the nightly?

Offline

#18 2005-10-14 08:28:13

mokhet
Xinha Authority
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 105
Website

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

http://mokhet.com/xinha/examples/working_FF_beta.html

I am using xinha with FF 1.5b1 and now b2 and I *never* have any problems at all.

Though i'm not using the way proposed by the example. The page is using changeset 385, but i'm using Xinha this way since changeset #58 and never have any problems. So i think the bug is not in Xinha neither in FF (any version) but somewhere in the example.

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
<html lang="fr">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8">
<meta http-equiv="Content-Language" content="fr">
<meta name="MSSmartTagsPreventParsing" content="TRUE">
<meta name="title" lang="fr" content="Xinha FF1.5b2">
<title>Xinha FF1.5b2</title>

<script type="text/javascript">
_editor_url = "/xinha/";
_editor_lang = "fr";
_editor_skin = "blue-look";
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/xinha/htmlarea.js"></script>

<script type="text/javascript">
HTMLArea.loadPlugin("FullScreen");
HTMLArea.loadPlugin("CharacterMap");
HTMLArea.loadPlugin("ContextMenu");
HTMLArea.loadPlugin("ListType");
HTMLArea.loadPlugin("TableOperations");
HTMLArea.loadPlugin("InsertAnchor");
HTMLArea.loadPlugin("FindReplace");
HTMLArea.loadPlugin("CharCounter");
HTMLArea.loadPlugin("SuperClean");
HTMLArea.loadPlugin("SpellChecker");
HTMLArea.loadPlugin("ImageManager");
HTMLArea.loadPlugin("Linker");
</script>

</head>

<body>

<form  method="post" action="#" onsubmit="return false">

<textarea id="p_ed0" name="AIERP-page-pag_contenu" style="margin:0;padding:0;border:0;" cols="80" rows="20"></textarea>

<script type="text/javascript">
function inited0() {
  var ed0 = new HTMLArea("p_ed0");
//ed0.config.ImageManager.backend = "/js/ImageManager/manager.php?";
ed0.config.statusBar = true;
//ed0.config.pageStyleSheets = ["/css/all.css"];
ed0.config.toolbar = [['separator','popupeditor','htmlmode','textindicator'],['separator','formatblock','forecolor','bold','italic','underline','strikethrough','killword'],['separator','justifyleft','justifycenter','justifyright','justifyfull'],['separator','subscript','superscript'],['separator','insertorderedlist','insertunorderedlist','outdent','indent'],['separator','createlink','insertimage','inserttable','toggleborders']];
ed0.config.width = '550px';
ed0.config.height = '350px';
ed0.config.SpellChecker.defaultDictionary = 'fr';
//ed0.config.Linker.backend = '/js/Linker/scanpages.php';
ed0.registerPlugin("FullScreen");
ed0.registerPlugin("CharacterMap");
ed0.registerPlugin("ContextMenu");
ed0.registerPlugin("ListType");
ed0.registerPlugin("TableOperations");
ed0.registerPlugin("InsertAnchor");
ed0.registerPlugin("FindReplace");
ed0.registerPlugin("CharCounter");
ed0.registerPlugin("SuperClean");
ed0.registerPlugin("SpellChecker");
//ed0.registerPlugin("ImageManager");
ed0.registerPlugin("Linker");
ed0.generate();
return false;
}
HTMLArea._addEvent(window, 'load', inited0);
</script>

<input type="submit" value="Valider"><input type="reset">
</form>


</body>
</html>

Last edited by mokhet (2005-10-14 17:38:26)

Offline

#19 2005-10-18 08:02:43

adam.jimenez
Xinha Pro
Registered: 2005-04-19
Posts: 50

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

Think it is how the htmlarea is created. That fix helped altho now i get: uncaught exception : permission denied to get property CSSStyleDeclaration.cssText

Offline

#20 2005-10-19 07:53:28

hugob
New member
Registered: 2005-10-19
Posts: 2

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

Just tried the latest version.
In FF 1.5b2 the code of Mokhet is working without mrs Kensington's patch
The full_example does not work without, but does work with the != -1 patch

Hugo

Offline

#21 2005-11-02 09:53:59

adam.jimenez
Xinha Pro
Registered: 2005-04-19
Posts: 50

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

Just tried FF 1.5 RC1. Full example does not work. But it works with Mrs K's patch.

Any chance of commiting mrs K's patch?

Offline

#22 2005-11-15 04:58:17

waving
New member
Registered: 2005-06-13
Posts: 6

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

Xinha works fine in firefox 1.5 RC2, without any patch

Last edited by waving (2005-11-15 04:58:55)

Offline

#23 2005-11-29 07:37:32

benforbes
New member
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2005-10-16
Posts: 9

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

waving wrote:

Xinha works fine in firefox 1.5 RC2, without any patch

Well it's broken in 1.5 RC3, so the problem isn't fixed.

Offline

#24 2005-11-29 11:12:22

adam.jimenez
Xinha Pro
Registered: 2005-04-19
Posts: 50

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

Works for me in RC3. Some minor css errors but that's about it.

Offline

#25 2005-11-30 22:38:34

benforbes
New member
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2005-10-16
Posts: 9

Re: Xinha Broken in Firefox Nightly

The nightly works for me in Firefox 1.5.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB